Archival documentation of the Castello D'Albertis - Museum of World Cultures in Genova

Archival documentation of the Castello D'Albertis - Museum of World Cultures in Genova

The archival collections of the D'Albertis Castle related to Australia include:


32 photos taken by the German photographer J.W.Lindt, composed of:

  • 11 staged photographs part of the Australian Aboriginals Portfolio and 10 landscapes part of the Characteristic Australian Scenery, bought by Cap. E. Alberto d’Albertis in his Melbourne Studio in 1878, during his first travel around the world;
  • 11 photos of the Clarence River area commissioned by Luigi D’Albertis during his visit to Grafton in 1873. Of this last group are included two shots of the Giant Fig Tree, property of the Wilcox family, 8 photos of woman and men in front of a wood house and 1 image of men outside the same house.

Taken in Grafton between 1872 and 1875, a number of the photographs were acquired directly from Lindt’s Grafton studio by New Guinea pioneer explorer, the Italian Luigi D’Albertis in 1873. A second group of landscape photographs from Lindt’s Characteristic Australian Scenery series (1875) and examples of Lindt’s Australian Aboriginals portfolio (1873-74) was later acquired by d’Albertis Museum founder, Captain Enrico d’Albertis from Lindt’s Melbourne studio during the Captain’s first world tour of 1877-78.



414 photos taken by Captain Luigi Maria D'Albertis composed of:

selected titles were chosen among 414 negatives of photographs taken by Captain E. D’Albertis on his third world tour (29 January-9 August 1910) when he travelled through West Australia, South Australia, Victoria and New South Wales. The following areas have been located in the images:


Group 1. Western Australia: Perth (the capital), Fremantle, Pinjarra, Kalgoorlie, Canegrass, and Menzies as locations.

Group 2. South Australia: Adelaide (the capital), Quorn, Hawker, Mernmerna, and locations on the Great Northern Railway route to the Flinders Ranges.

Group 3. Victoria: Melbourne, (the capital), which includes Parliament House, The Treasury, Burke and Wills Monument.

Group 4. New South Wales: Sydney (the capital, which includes George St., Darling Harbour, Rushcutters Bay, Narabeen, The Domain, the Royal Botanic Gardens, Botany Bay), the Hawkesbury River, the Blue Mountains, the Jenolan Caves.